There are multiple ways to assign a task to someone (listed below) or to add followers to a task that will receive updates from this task.
You can create tasks that are:
- Assigned to you and not shared (default when creating from My Tasks or using the + icon in the top bar)
- Unassigned and shared with a subject's members (default when creating from a subject's page)
- Assigned to a teammate (default when creating from a user profile tasks page), or if you pre-select an assignee when creating from a subject's page.
You can assign an existing task from a task card:
... or directly from a list of tasks:
The assignee will get notified and the task's border color will change to show you're not in charge of it.
You are still a follower of this task so when the assignee or someone who has access to this task comments on the task or marks it has completed, you get notified.
Pre-assign a task:
Here is a summary view from a Subject's page.
You can list the tasks you follow or you've assigned to others from My Tasks > using the additional views: