Time tracking in subtasks is now fully supported in Azendoo. Here is what changes:
Time spent in subtasks is added to their parent tasks
Time is added to all levels above (when using subtasks on multiple levels)
The new Time tracking history displays time spent entries from lower levels (entries in subtasks)
Time spent in subtasks is therefore counted for each of the parent task(s) subject(s)
This might impact your time analytics
Impact on analytics
Time spent in subtasks is now also taken into account in the subject and workspace analytics. The time spent in subtasks will be added to its parent task and therefore in the subject(s) each parent task is shared on.
If you shared subtasks in the same subjects as their parent tasks, you'll be happy to know that the time spent in subtasks is only counted once, therefore not impacting your analytics.
If you had time spent in subtasks, which were not shared on any subjects, this time will be counted to its parent tasks subjects, therefore impacting your time tracking analytics.
Changes on data exports
CSV exports of Workspace and Subject Time Tracking analytics now include all subtasks time included in the calculations, as well as the task IDs and parent task IDs associated with all entries so that you can identify which entries affect which tasks.
Here is where you can export your data directly from the Azendoo interface.
How to rectify these changes
If you have been impacted, specifically because you had spent time in subtasks which have not been shared on their parent tasks subjects, then you may want to undo these changes.
In order to identify which tasks are impacted you can export your time tracking data to analyse the logs attached to subtasks and find their parent task.
You will then need to remove time spent entries from your subtasks in Azendoo. Thankfully, the new History view now displays all time spent logs present in all of the subtasks below. You'll need to open the tasks which you suspect have been impacted and remove the entries by clicking on the handy cross icon on the far right of each log when hovering your cursor.
How does this impact your organisation
The impact will depend on how you were organised before this update relating to subtasks and subjects.
If you shared subtasks on the same subjects as their parent tasks, then your time analytics should not be impacted. You can un-share subtasks from the same subjects and stop sharing subtasks on subjects in the future in order to count the time tracking at the subject level.
If you entered spent time in subtasks but did not share them, then the time spent will now be added into your analytics and you don't have anything else to do.
In any case, the new time tracking history will enable you to see where the time is coming from and correct your time entries if necessary. Feel free to reach out to our support team if this change impacts your analytics in a way that you do not understand.